Before and After

A few years ago I was fortunate enough to find an old Ansco Panda camera at an antique mall that had a roll of undeveloped film in it.   I wrote about my anticipation of having the film developed and you can read the article here.  Through comments on the article and various posts on social media, I was able to determine the location of the shots from the roll from many years ago.

This past spring, some fellow film shooters and I ventured to the location and I brought the original camera with me loaded with fresh film and a plan…

Plan; not the correct choice of words.  I had an idea.  The idea was to replicate the roll using models and costumes. The plan never materialized.  Luckily I have some great friends who were willing to stand in as models and help me shoot the roll as best I could.

I didn’t examine the photos properly for composition and hurried the shots.

Was it a failure? No, I don’t think so.  How can having fun with a camera and friends ever end in failure?  So what if the shots don’t match exactly? I felt like I was taking the camera home that day.  I was tempted to leave it there with the roll I shot in it and see what fate had in store for it this time.  I didn’t.  Here are a few of the before and after shots.
Before and After-1

Before and After-2

Before and After-3

Who knows, maybe by some miracle, someone will recognize the originals and I might be able to reunite them with the pictures.  Stranger things have happened on the internet.

Have you ever been lucky enough to find and develop a long lost roll of film?

Leave a Reply

