It’s a Funny Old World (part 2)

So there I was, film snob that I am, standing in the local camera shop contemplating purchasing a Micro 4/3 digital camera system.  I loved the weight of it, the fact that I could shoot completely manual, and the interchangeable lenses were and added bonus.  The price was decent but I decided to go and do some more research and check out some reviews.

That night I scoured the internet reading as much about this camera as I could, all the while wondering why I was even contemplating this; I have a myriad of SLR’s, point and shoots and everything in between.  Why was I trying so hard to talk myself into buying a digital camera?

I finished reading the reviews.  I wasn’t sold on this particular camera even though it was averaging 4.5 out of 5 on all the sites I read.  For me it’s all about the wait, the grain, the way different emulsions play differently with light.  I still don’t think any digital sensor will ever come close to replicating that (although, I’ve seen some that are close lately).

And so I went off to bed feeling slightly confused and wondering if I had accidentally taken some strange pill that made me want to convert to digital.  Strange dreams followed.

By the time I awoke, I had decided to wait a few days before making a decision.  I went about my day as usual and when I got home, there was a message on my phone.  It was the camera shop.  I had asked them to keep me posted on the arrival of the new Fuji Instax Mini 90 Neo Classic which was due to arrive early next year.  “Your camera is in.” was the message.

As I discussed in yesterday’s post, the world has a way of throwing curveballs at me.  This was another.  Of course I would prefer this to any digital camera.

IMG_2598

The next day, I went to the shop first thing and I couldn’t be happier.  Sorry Micro 4/3 digital, you’ll have to wait a little while yet.

I’ll post some pictures when I have the time to scan them.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

