The Olympus XA: First Shots

As I mentioned in a previous post, I am now the proud owner of two Olympus XA‘s. They are beautiful little rangefinder cameras that fit in the palm of your hand.

I have recently finished the first roll with my thrift shop one (after incorrectly loading it the first time). Happily, the shot that double exposed turned out pretty cool.
Olympus XA (vv) Roll 1-2

The lens is pretty sharp and the camera being aperture priority has a fairly consistent exposure. My only issue with the camera and I’ll admit it’s getting better the more I get used to the camera is that the shutter is very sensitive. I did waste a few shots by having my finger over the shutter release before I was ready to shoot. Being aware of that has helped with the roll I am currently shooting in my other one.

The XA I purchased on eBay is in much better shape so I’m hoping for even better results with that roll.

In the meantime, here are a few shots from the roll.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

